Welcome !

Detect if user "x's" out of window

margentieri

• Total Posts : 18
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 0
Detect if user "x's" out of window Friday, October 28, 2016 7:08 AM (permalink)
Hi all,

I have a VBScript which creates a user form within an Internet Explorer window.  This window is created using CreateObject(InternetExplorer.Application).  The problem is, if the user closes this window by x'ing out, the window will close, but the script will then throw an error.  I want to avoid getting this error.

I know that one way to do this is to use wscript.CreateObject(InternetExplorer.Application, "IE_") and then use
Sub IE_onQuit
    wscript.quit
End Sub

However, this will not work for me, as the engine used by the device I need to run this code on does not recognize the wscript object (crazy I know!).

I also tried using On Error Resume Next, but that also doesn't work, because that causes my script to get caught in an infinite loop and never close unless I kill the process in the Task Manager.

I figure if I can have some code that detects if the user x's out, I can then simply execute IE.Quit, which would prevent any errors from arising. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks!
<message edited by margentieri on Friday, October 28, 2016 7:10 AM>

59cobalt

• Total Posts : 2625
    • Scores: 253
    Re:Detect if user "x's" out of window Saturday, October 29, 2016 10:35 AM (permalink)
    Not every engine capable of running VBScript code provides a WScript object (the HTA interpreter for instance). Nothing crazy about it.

The cleanest way is to find out what "exit self" method the interpreter you're using provides, and use that instead of WScript.Quit. If that's not possible for some reason you could resort to checking if your IE handle is still valid:
    Function IsObjectValid(ie)
      IsObjectValid = (TypeName(ie) = "IWebBrowser2")
    End Function
    and run whatever code you want to execute only if that function returns True.